Written 2026-09-24 · prices read 24 September 2026
Klaviyo pricing: the whole curve, step by step
$20 a month at 500 active profiles to $400 at 25,000, read off Klaviyo's own slider. Where the curve jumps, why the Marketing plan costs a flat $58 more, and what an active profile really is.
Paid links on this page. Links that begin /go/ are partner links: follow one, subscribe, and the platform sends Reorderly a share of what you pay. Omnisend, Sender and Moosend are the only three that can. Klaviyo, Mailchimp, Brevo and Shopify pay this site nothing and are linked plainly wherever they are the right answer — which, on several pages here, they are. The full arrangement is written down.
Klaviyo's Email plan runs from $20 a month at 500 active profiles to $400 at 25,000, and its Marketing plan from $78 to $544 across the same range. The steps are not evenly spaced, and the gap between the two plans is fixed at exactly $58 a month for most of the curve before it starts widening.
Those figures come from driving Klaviyo's own profiles slider step by step on 24 September 2026, in a browser configured for the United States, and reading each rendered card. Nothing below is interpolated between steps the slider did not stop at.
The full curve
| Active profiles | Email plan | Marketing plan | Marketing premium | Email cost per 1,000 profiles |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 500 | $20 | $78 | $58 | $40.00 |
| 1,500 | $45 | $103 | $58 | $30.00 |
| 3,000 | $70 | $128 | $58 | $23.33 |
| 5,000 | $100 | $158 | $58 | $20.00 |
| 6,000 | $130 | $188 | $58 | $21.67 |
| 10,000 | $150 | $208 | $58 | $15.00 |
| 12,000 | $250 | $368 | $118 | $20.83 |
| 25,000 | $400 | $544 | $144 | $16.00 |
Klaviyo monthly rates by active profiles, read at klaviyo.com/pricing on 24 September 2026, in US dollars. The last two columns are arithmetic on the two before them.
Unit cost falls with scale, as expected — but not smoothly. It rises at 6,000 and again at 12,000, because those sit just past a step rather than just before one.
The two places the curve jumps
Between 5,000 and 6,000 profiles the Email plan goes from $100 to $130. That is thirty dollars a month for a thousand more people, against twenty dollars for the two thousand before it.
Between 10,000 and 12,000 it goes from $150 to $250 — a hundred dollars a month for two thousand profiles, which is where the unit cost jumps from $15 per thousand to almost $21. The Marketing plan does the same thing harder, from $208 to $368.
The practical consequence is that the worst place to sit is just past a step. A store hovering around 10,000 profiles has a real financial interest in whether it is at 10,000 or 12,000, in a way it does not between 3,000 and 5,000. Because active profiles are engagement-driven rather than list-driven, that is not a number you can simply prune down either.
The flat $58, and when to buy the upper plan
From 500 profiles through 10,000, the Marketing plan costs exactly fifty-eight dollars a month more than the Email plan, at every single step. Klaviyo does not advertise this and it is the most useful thing on the page once you see it.
As a proportion, $58 is nearly four times the entry price at 500 profiles and under forty per cent of the bill at 10,000. So the multi-channel tools — mobile push and in-app messages, predictive analytics, onsite personalisation, product recommendations, loyalty rewards, order tracking, the customer self-service hub — are proportionally at their cheapest at around 10,000 profiles, and at their most expensive relative to the base plan when your store is small.
Above 10,000 the premium widens to $118 and then $144, so the window does not stay open.
The dollar, and the footnote that does not match
At the 500-profile step the Email card headlines $1 with $20 struck through and a $19 OFF flag. The footnote reads: "Limited Time: Get $19 off your first month on the $20 email plan." So $20 is the ongoing rate and the dollar covers one month.
At the same step the Marketing card shows $59 against $78, carrying the identical $19 OFF flag — and the identical footnote, which describes the offer as applying to "the $20 email plan". Whether a Marketing subscriber also receives $19 off a first month, or that flag is showing an offer belonging to the neighbouring column, the page does not say. Both figures are printed here exactly as they appeared, and no rule has been invented to reconcile them.
The offer appeared only at the 500-profile step. At every other position on the slider, both cards showed a single price with no flag.
What a profile is, and why you control it less than a list
An active profile is someone who has engaged with your store recently. A dormant customer eventually stops counting, which is the genuine advantage of this meter: a store with years of history and a small engaged core pays for the core.
The cost of that is control. A contact list is a number you can prune deliberately. An active-profile count moves with your own marketing — a successful ad campaign, a seasonal rush, a product that goes briefly viral all push people into the billable set without your sending them anything. Stores whose traffic is spiky should model the peak rather than the average, because that is the month the invoice reflects.
How that compares to being billed by contacts
Work out your active-to-total ratio, because it decides everything. A store with 25,000 customers of whom 5,000 are active pays Klaviyo's $100. On a contact meter the same store is billed for all 25,000 — $149 a month on Sender Standard, $160 on Moosend billed monthly. Klaviyo is the cheaper option there, by a distance.
Flip it to 5,000 customers who are nearly all active and Klaviyo's $100 sits against Sender's $39 and Moosend's $48 for the same list. Same platform, same plan, opposite verdict, purely on the ratio.
What the sends allowance does on top
The profile count is not the only number on the card. Klaviyo's Email plan showed 5,000 emails a month at the 500-profile step, and the free tier 500 emails against 250 profiles — ten sends per profile in both cases.
Klaviyo's pricing page does not state what happens if that allowance is exceeded, so no consequence is described here. Mailchimp, by contrast, states on its own page that overages apply on paid tiers and that sending pauses on the free one. Where a vendor is silent, this site stays silent rather than assuming the usual thing happens.
For a store sending a weekly campaign plus four automated flows, ten sends per profile a month is comfortable. For one running a heavy promotional calendar in November and December, it is worth confirming the ceiling directly with Klaviyo before the quarter that matters.
Klaviyo assessed on what that money buys is written up separately, and all seven platforms are priced side by side in the main comparison.
Questions this page gets asked
How much does Klaviyo cost at 10,000 contacts?
At 10,000 active profiles, $150 a month on the Email plan and $208 on the Marketing plan, read at klaviyo.com/pricing on 24 September 2026. Note that active profiles are not the same as contacts: Klaviyo counts people who have engaged recently, so a store with 10,000 customers may have considerably fewer billable profiles. The next step read on the slider was 12,000 profiles at $250 and $368, so the cost of crossing that boundary is steep.
Why did my Klaviyo bill go up when I didn't add contacts?
Because the meter counts engagement, not list size. Anything that makes more people interact with your store — a campaign that worked, a seasonal rush, a product getting attention — moves them into the active set and onto the bill, whether or not you emailed them. This is the trade-off for the dormant tail of your customer file not being billed. If your traffic is spiky, budget against the peak month rather than the average one.
What is the difference between Klaviyo's Email and Marketing plans?
Fifty-eight dollars a month, at every step from 500 to 10,000 active profiles. For that the Marketing plan adds mobile push and in-app messages, predictive analytics, marketing and segment performance reports, social engagement data, onsite personalisation, product recommendations, loyalty rewards, order tracking and a customer self-service hub. Because the premium is flat rather than proportional, it costs nearly four times the base plan at 500 profiles and under forty per cent of the bill at 10,000 — then widens to $118 at 12,000 and $144 at 25,000.
Is Klaviyo's $1 offer real?
It is real and it lasts one month. At 500 active profiles the Email card shows $1 against a struck-through $20, with a footnote saying $19 off the first month of the $20 plan. From the second month the rate is $20. The same page also shows that $19 OFF flag on the Marketing card at $59 against $78 while the footnote beneath describes the offer as applying to the email plan — a discrepancy this site reports rather than resolves, because Klaviyo's page does not state which reading is correct.
Next along the shelf
Abandoned cart email: the flow is free, the one before it is not
Every platform here sends a cart email and two do it free. The upgrade you are actually paying for is browse abandonment — and what each of the four store flows requires.
Shopify email apps: what is worth paying for, and when
Shopify Email gives 10,000 emails a month free, then $1 per 1,000. Two paid platforms undercut it at 60,000 emails — and one feature is the real reason to switch.
Klaviyo alternatives: work out the ratio first
Six credible replacements, priced at 5,000 people. But the decision turns on one number most comparisons skip: how much of your customer file is actually active.